TTT: Books I Loved That Made Me Want More Books Like Them (June 8)

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.


This week we have “Books I Loved that Made Me Want More Books Like Them”. I know there are so many good books out there so this one will be a fun one to see what everyone’s are. As always, images will link to the Amazon description page of that book. Without further ado, here are mine.

The Giver

I believe this was my first introduction to dystopian writing. I loved this book. I loved seeing how things can easily change the future of our whole existence and everything can be completely forgotten in just a few decades. This is something I hope never happens. We need books and freedom of speech so that we can learn and grow from one another.

Gilded Cage

I think this was one of my initial introductions to fantasy. I know that this is also a sort of dystopian but it has a magic system that introduced me to a whole new world of books. This also has some political elements that make me enjoy it that much more. This world is horrible but the magic system I thought was great!

A Thousand plendid Suns

This book made me cry so hard and feel for these women. I have always loved books with strong women and I think this one portrays just that. Along with it being a perspective on another culture. That is always fascinating to me.

Into the Wilderness

I love stories of premodern world. I love the simple lifestyle and the hardships they face are always something that interests me. This world will always have it’s flaws. I love seeing how others overcome those elements life brings and the take that an author makes in writing the story. You see such real historical lifestyles that are seen through the lense off modern thinking.

Encyclopedia Brown

These were some of my favorite books growing up and are a direct reason in why I love mysteries so much.

Persepolis

This was the first graphic novel I think I had ever read. I really enjoyed it because of the historical aspects. I wish more bios and historical fiction was written this way. I think more people would enjoy it. Let me know if you have any you think I would like similar to this.

Evermore

This was a gift from one of my nieces. I don’t know if I would have ever picked it up but I did and I rather enjoyed it. I have now read other books I would say are similar to this one. I had never really be into the vampire books but this one took me by surprise. Now I have read some other ones but I decided I disliked them when I was younger when I read a book that had a girl being a vampire to drink her blood like it was a sexual thing that she was offering to die for him or something. I was so over it. However, this was in much better taste with my liking.

Sarah’s Key

I’m not sure what was my first historical fiction novel but this was one that had me interested in reading more about Nazi’s. It broke my heart and I cried sooooo hard. This is a book that has stuck with me. I attribute this to my love of historical fiction. I was reading books similar to this one for a while afterward and then I reached out into other areas like Henry VIII. Also, books on the civil war. I ended up enjoy so many books because of this, like one of my favorites, The Mistress of the Revolution.

Parallel

I think this was my first multiverse/time travel book, at least that I remember. I have read many others since and loved many of them. I enjoy time travel, multiple dimensions, time loss, and endless time. So books like How to Stop Time, The Invisible life of Addie LaRue, and The Time Traveler’s Wife.

Brownies and Broomsticks

I now have an exhaustive list of cozy mysteries on my TBR since reading this and have read so many. I love them!

Now that you’ve hopefully read mine and thought about checking them out for yourself, please go give some love to all the others participating in this tag!


*Disclaimer:
*This post has affiliate links to provide you with quick and easy access to related content. I may receive compensation at no additional cost to you when you use the links provided.
*While this blog is my own opinions and I may provide information within, use at your own risk. I am not responsible for any harm or loss monetary or otherwise and will not provide compensation in any form for any reason whatsoever.
*All statement and opinions are my own unless otherwise stated. Opinions and content may change at any time without notice. No use of content may be used without prior authorization.
*It is not my intent to offend anyone in any way. Removal of ugly, hateful, or just plain rude comments will be deleted without warning.

4 thoughts on “TTT: Books I Loved That Made Me Want More Books Like Them (June 8)

    1. No, I haven’t read them. I know that many times the sequels aren’t as good and that’s what I’ve been hesitant about but they are one my list when I get a chance but I’m not make it them a priority.

  1. Parallel sounds super interesting and I was a huge fan of Time Traveler’s Wife… I can read books about time/travel/parallel universes, etc as long as it’s written realistically… If I can envision it happening than I am SUPER invested in that book. Thanks for the rec. Having said that – I think you would really enjoy the novel “Shimmers” by J.P. Strecker. Scientists have accidentally created a portal to an alternate universe while studying time and space. What’s even worse is three year old twins James and Joshua happen upon it and Joshua walks in, never to be seen again. His brother spends the next 30 years trying to learn all he can about the portal, “The Shimmer” and where one might appear next so that he can find his brother. This book is a unique blend of science fiction and horror that kept me guessing throughout. Just when I thought I had an idea of what was happening the author throws in another surprise. And it did leave me wondering, “What would I do if something like that showed up in my city?” A great summer read. Check it out! https://jonathanstrecker.com/

Leave a Reply